The Wisdom of a Fictional Character

I know it’s been a while since I posted, and I know I had planned and promised a lot with my last posts, just know that I am continuing while not as strict as I was in my infatuation phase.

I just finished Wool, the first in a trio by Hugh Howey. I found a couple of quotes that I thought were quite fitting to be shared. Over this past year we have seen and heard of so much violence and death from those that are meant to enforce laws; not mete justice like Judge Dredd.

dredd__i_am_the_law__by_magnetic007-d648ygt

The Washington Post reported, as of 12/24/2015, 965 civilians had been killed in officer-involved shootings. If that’s not bad enough The Guardian puts the number at 1126!

From the recent ones like Bettie Jones and Quintonio LeGrier to the unthinkable ones like Jeremy Mardis the news reports a new crime to humanity every day. I understand the need for an officer to kill a suspect in the line of duty if his life is in danger, but to think that an officer could kill a 6 year old boy and not be charged with a crime is illogical!

500310p5952EDNmain6520mr-spock-2

Though not in this year, the most illogical one in my mind is the nearly 2 seconds that police took to shoot 12 year old Tamir Rice. This is recent in my mind because the grand jury came out today to state that the officers wouldn’t be charged with any crime concerning the encounter.

These occurrences have weighed on my brain each and every time I hear a news article or see a video online. I recently finished Wool and found two very fitting quotes. Mr. Howey wrote the book in 2011 which wasn’t that very long ago but I feel that the shootings weren’t nearly as large of a problem just 4 years ago. These quotes seemed to be placed for someone to find as a response to our current situation, not as forewarning of events to come.

The short-term rage to be sated at the end of a barrel was too easy to act on. Staving off extinction required something else, something with more vision, something impossibly patient.
-Hugh Howey, Wool

The book is about a nearly Utopian society that has been forced underground. The population lives in a silo under the earth and each person plays their part in keeping the society running smoothly. As in all things the society begins to crumble and in the resulting, inevitable collapse weapons are forged and used. Some of the characters, and most especially the author, realize the gravitas as seen in the words below.

Killing a man should be harder than waving a length of pipe in their direction. It should take long enough for one’s conscience to get in the way.
-Hugh Howey, Wool

wool._SL1417_.jpg

Pick up the book, not only is it a good read but it may just help us see that society is fragile and we all need to work together to keep it functional.

About MDarks

This is me. Check out the topics and pages at the top of this page. Thanks for visiting, leave me a comment, share a post, follow the blog, whatever. Thanks for reading, come back soon for more.

Posted on December 28, 2015, in FreeThoughts, Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

