My Letter to Santa

It’s that time of year again already. I’m sure we’ve each either been asked or popped the question ourselves; What do you want for Christmas?

dear-santa

This post will be both talking about Santa and my own letter for those in my family who want some idea of want to get me. In thinking about this post I thought I’d look up some references to letters to Santa, what I’ve found is cool. First and foremost, there are a lot of websites designed to send a letter to Santa and to ensure your child (or you even, I guess) gets a response from ole’ Saint Nick.

http://emailsanta.com/

http://www.saintnick.org/html/letters.html

http://northpole.com/Mailroom/default-before.asp

Sariah knows, I think, who Santa is and that he is associated with Christmas and giving. I don’t see her having lacked anything in her childhood from not believing that Santa was a literal being who gave gifts. The story is so ridiculous when we grow up that I actively worked to not have her believe it and keep some people from speaking as if he were more than simply a good character to know with attributes to emulate (charity, altruism, cheerful).

I have been accosted for taking this position but I couldn’t care less. I don’t think it favorable to teach your child to believe something you know to be false. I couldn’t think of a way to explain having taught her to believe the story and then her asking the unavoidable questions; How does he make it to every house in one night? Why do some kids get more toys than other kids? Why do some of the bad kids get toys and some of the good kids not?

I don’t want to make this post about the story of Santa but everything I do now brings up my skeptic mind and how I am adapting as a parent each and every day. I must say that I don’t feel any emotion either way to those parents who do teach their kids, or allow them to believe, that Santa is factual, nor do I have any feelings about my having believed in Santa. I do remember the night I found out Mama got the stuff out of the trunk of the Festiva though (duplex, bunk bed, hanger in her foot, retainer screw, it all jumbles together but it’s in there somewhere).

Just for fun, if you haven’t ever heard of it, check out the Krampus, the antithesis to Santa.

san2

The nicest website I found is one we probably don’t visit that often, the United States Postal Service. The USPS has this planned out very nicely. They accept all letters and even set up a way for volunteers to “adopt” a child and buy from their list. Their Santa section is appropriately filed under the category “Corporate Social Responsibility”. I know they can’t focus on every letter that passes through their hands but I like that they feel it is their social responsibility as a corporation in that position to take care of as many letters as they are able to.

https://about.usps.com/corporate-social-responsibility/letters-to-santa.htm#p=1

I wasn’t aware of the adoption process that the post office has but perhaps Crystal, Sariah, Sophia, and I will participate or even our lab at work could take a couple letters and contribute this season, it could be our “corporate social responsibility” too.

santa

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Before I get into an actual list I want you all to know this is only being put together because I will not be left alone and allowed to say that I really, truly, don’t need anything for Christmas. I don’t say this to be humble or modest. I say this because it is true. I have a great life. My family and friends are the best anyone could ask for and material possessions pale in comparison to seeing each of you.

It may be futile to say this but Crystal, Sariah, and Sophia are set, spoiled really. You needn’t buy them anything either. Maybe I will get Sariah to make out a list and have a post for her too. Sophia could care less yet and Crystal can set up her own blog for her list, or maybe a guest post!

So, that said, this is my list and it by no means all-inclusive. I have done my part so when I ask you I will not accept the answer ‘nothing’.

dear santa style decorum

 

Gift Card (Amazon, Walmart, Lowes, Home Depot, Fandango etc)

ThinkGeek Wishlist

Wireless Headphones, Keyboard, and/or Mouse

Any book from this website (I don’t have any of them and they’re signed copies)

Headlight (1997 Ford F-150)

Something from 23 and Me  or  DNA11 (really cool but expensive)

I am a dad, scientist, lab rat, atheist, brony so anything from those genres is welcome

I have been thinking lately about items that are nicer/collectible (not necessarily expensive though)

I still like the sun/moon/star things

Harry Potter and MLP are always a hit

a new tattoo is working in my brain

27183696

About MDarks

This is me. Check out the topics and pages at the top of this page. Thanks for visiting, leave me a comment, share a post, follow the blog, whatever. Thanks for reading, come back soon for more.

Posted on October 26, 2014, in Dad Dealings, Personal Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

