Merci

Merci, French for thank you, the perfect title for a post about being grateful for my trip to France.

I have been so lucky in my life having been able to go on many vacations. One of my favorite locations is, of course, the Louvre and the Eiffle Tower from my People to People trip in 2003.

Louvre

For those who don’t know what it is, the Louvre is THE art museum. Within its walls are masterpieces that we’ve all grown up hearing about. The Mona Lisa, Michelangelo’s David, the Winged Victory, and much, much, much more. Possibly one of the reasons that this spot is one of my favorites is because in April before our trip the summer of 2003, Dan Brown released one of his best books. The DaVinci Code featured the death of the curator of the Louvre and the opening sequence of the book was the travel through the empty museum. The intrigue brought longing for me to see this museum and be in the places it was talking about. To this day when I think of art my thoughts travel to the Louvre and on to Robert Langdon.

Eiffel_Tower_20051010

Another of those dream destinations that I have had the luxury of going to is the Eiffel Tower. Someday I will get a blog series going about my travels not only to save my thoughts for the future but also the pictures, but for now I will say this was awesome. Being able to go up the tower and see out for miles over the cityscape of Paris is breath taking, and not just for those afraid of heights.

The art and people I encountered on this trip opened my mind. I have a much greater respect for art since my time in France, and I like to think that actually meeting some of the people who live so far away and in some ways so similar a lifestyle but at the same time such a different lifestyle as we do has made me a better person.

About MDarks

This is me. Check out the topics and pages at the top of this page. Thanks for visiting, leave me a comment, share a post, follow the blog, whatever. Thanks for reading, come back soon for more.

Posted on November 13, 2013, in Thankfully Yours. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

