Flynn Rider To The Rescue

A startling thought I’ve had and wanted to share about a movie we’ve all likely seen… Disney’s Tangled. Before you start reading this post be wary of spoilers, I know how people hate that kind of thing, but seeing as how this is a couple of years old and a children’s Disney movie I’ll go ahead and spoil it.

Tangled_poster

Before I go into my thought process I’d like to make sure everyone is familiar with the idea behind it. A big turning point for me in my coming out and thinking against the “church” happened when I read Plato’s Allegory of the Cave in college. I’ve told this story before but the TLDR is that everything we “know” may not actually be. So, on to Tangled, I’ve come to see that the story of Rapunzel is very much like the story of the guys in the cave, and like my story if I take some artistic license.

I think the easiest way to get the point across is for me to equate the points of the movie to the points of freedom from religion.

Rapunzel – Self

Mother Gothel – the “Church” people/community

Tower – the “Church”

Flynn – The helper (I would be this for you as I had someone help liberate me)

the Floating Lights – That one piece of nagging evidence that something isn’t rightimagesRapunzel is raised convinced the outside world is bad and evil; the only way to stay safe is to stay in the tower and listen to Mother Gothel. Rapunzel has noticed that there are good parts outside of the Tower, wants to investigate them, goes out to learn about the world with the help of Flynn, but Mother Gothel turns to deception and manipulation to bring Rapunzel back to the tower. It doesn’t even seem that Mother Gothel is doing this for the well being of Rapunzel instead she has her own agenda to keep the powers of her hair. At first Rapunzel is bipolar about her decision and goes from excited to remorseful about leaving, but eventually Rapunzel finds out there are good people outside of the tower. The power Mother Gothel had over her was broken and she knows she can live without her or the tower.

TANGLEDI hope this will inspire us all to look a little deeper at our own surroundings as Rapunzel did; notice the lights, explore the possibilities! I will end this post with lyrics from “I See The Light” from Tangled, very fitting to the theme of this post and apparently the movie.

“And at last I see the light
And it’s like the fog has lifted
And at last I see the light
And it’s like the sky is new
And it’s warm and real and bright
And the world has somehow shifted
All at once everything looks different
Now that I see you”

Click here to see the lyrics and hear the song

pin-tangled-movie-desktop-background-in-1920x1200-hd

Are you going to stay holed up in your tower or do you want to investigate the world with me?

About MDarks

This is me. Check out the topics and pages at the top of this page. Thanks for visiting, leave me a comment, share a post, follow the blog, whatever. Thanks for reading, come back soon for more.

Posted on July 7, 2013, in Christianity, Coming Out, FreeThoughts, Mormon-isms. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

